Call for applications

European and Southern African Board Member to represent subregion Britannia (Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, United Kingdom)

03 April 2019

ESA elections


The term of office of current European and Southern Africa (ESA) Board Member Lynne Fryer will come to an end on June 30, 2019. The AOCMF ESA Board is looking for a representative of the subregion Britannia, comprising Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, and the United Kingdom, and will soon begin the election process for this position. Candidates who fulfill the eligibility criteria are invited to submit their applications by midnight Central European Summer Time (CEST) on May 12, 2019.

Eligibility criteria

To apply for this position, the candidate must fulfill the requirements provided in the job description.

This AOCMF ESA Board position is suited to a highly-motivated individual of professional repute and excellent scientific and clinical recognition, both within the subregion of practice and the European and Southern Africa region.

The elected member should be a resident of one of the countries or territories in the subregion Britannia (Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, and the United Kingdom) and prepared to work in a multicultural environment with no travel restrictions within the region. She/he is expected to have the vision to contribute to the global AOCMF community and help the regional organization to set new standards in positioning AOCMF as a global leader in craniomaxillofacial surgery education and research.

The successful candidate will become a member of the AOCMF ESA Board for a three-year term (from July 2019 to June 2022). In this role, she/he will oversee all board activities for AOCMF Europe and Southern Africa, with a special focus on the territories belonging to the subregion Britannia in Europe. 

Election process

Applications must be submitted by email to Project Manager Education AOCMF Sonia Rebustini at by midnight CEST on May 12, 2019. The nomination committee will review all applications and, by the end of May 2019, select the candidates who fulfill the prerequisites.

The "first past the post" election mechanism with multiple rounds (runoffs) will be used. If a candidate achieves an absolute majority in any round, she/he will be the winner. The candidate with the least votes is eliminated at each round. Another round will be carried out if no candidate achieves an absolute majority. 

Eligible voters

The electorate includes all voting members of the AOCMF ESA board, active AOCMF ESA faculty members with educational experience for AO within the last five years from the subregion Britannia (Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, and the United Kingdom); voting members of any AOCMF global commission or task force (Community Development Commission, Web Editorial Group, TK System, R&D Commission, Global Education Task Force) who are residents of the subregion Britannia. Candidates running for election are ineligible to vote in the election. Each voting member has one vote.

The name of the elected member will be announced by June 30, 2019. She/he is expected to assume the post in July 2019.

How to apply

Only applicants who fulfill the requirements provided in the job description and who submit the following documents will be considered for election: 

Eligible candidates must submit their completed application no later than midnight CEST on May 12, 2019 to:

Sonia Rebustini
Project Manager Education AOCMF
AO Foundation / AOCMF
Clavadelerstrasse 8, 7270 Davos, Switzerland
Phone +41 81 414 21 11, Fax +41 81 414 22 80

All applications will be treated as strictly confidential. Please contact Sonia Rebustini directly with any questions.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.